Astronomical dating


The Mahabharata also occupies an important position in the Vedic Samhitas.

The oldest Vedic Samhita-Rig Veda was compiled just before the events of Mahabharata unfolds.

The Navagrahas are as follows Moon (Chandra), Sun (Surya), Ascending node (Rahu), Decending node (Ketu), Mercury (Budha), Venus (Shukra), Mars (Angaraka), Jupiter (Brihaspati) and Saturn (Shani).

In Hindu calendar the Navagrahas act like the second hand, minute hand and the hour hand of the cosmic clock.

These are Aswini (Beta/Gamma Arietris), Bharani (35,39 &41 Arietris), Krittika (Pleiades), Rohini (Aldebaran), Mrigashira (Lambda Orionis), Ardra (Betelgeuse), Punarvasu (Castor & Pollux), Pushya (Cancri), Aslesha (Hydrae), Magha (Regulus), Purva Phalguni (Delta Leonis), Uttara Phalguni (Denebola), Hasta (Corvi), Chitra (Spica), Swati (Arcturus), Visaka (Librae), Anuradha (Beta Scorpionis), Jyesta (Antares), Mula (Lambda Scorpionis), Purva Ashada (Kaus ), Uttara Ashada (Nunki), Shravana (Altair), Dhanista (Delphini), Satabhisha (Sadachbia), Purva Bhadra(Alpha/Beta Pegasi), Uttara Bhadra (Gamma Pegasi) and Revati (Piscium). The position of Saturn, sun and moon can tell the year, month and day in a 30 year cycle. We would need something that moves much slower than Saturn.

The following are the motion of the navagrahas across the nakshatras. The precession of equinox and solstice is the answer.

all the way up to Kuru Sharavana, Devapi and Santanu in Book 10.



One last navagraha indicator that moves slower than Saturn is the retrograde motion of Mars.

The Navagrahas travel through the sky splattered with stars or Nakshatras.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>